Tax & Duty Free Shopping

Duty Free

"Duty Free" means that no excise duty is applicable and as such payable to the Government (HM Revenue & Customs) on the relevant items purchased. Items which are classed as Duty Free must be exported in tact outside of the European Union (EU) and therefore are only sold to passengers flying to non-EU countries.

This "duty free" status applies to all cigarettes and tobacco, plus selected spirits (these are clearly marked in-store).

Tax Free

Shopping at "Tax Free Prices" is offered in all our stores with the Departure Lounge after security.

The "Tax Free Price" is equivalent to the selling price of the relevant merchandise prior to the addition of VAT (Value Added Tax), currently 20%.

If the passenger is flying outside the EU no tax is applicable to HM Revenue & Customs.

If the passenger is flying within the UK or EU the VAT will be accounted for to HM Revenue & Customs by WDF on behalf of the customer. Because the VAT is fully accounted for typically there are no limits to the amount that can be purchased (for personal use) by those passengers flying within the UK or EU.

Hence tax free equivalent prices are available to all passengers, regardless of where they are travelling.

Typical categories which are sold at tax free prices include: fragrance, skincare, cosmetics, sunglasses, watches, jewellery and handbags.

In addition to the above categories WDF offers a wide range of spirits, wine & Champagne which are available to all travellers. Where these products are purchased by a customer flying within the EU or UK both VAT and any applicable duty are accounted for to HM Revenue & Customs by WDF.

Which countries are part of the European Union?

The EU includes the following 27 countries: Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain (including the Balearic Islands - Mallorca, Ibiza and Menorca), Sweden, the Netherlands, the UK.

There are a number of other islands or territories which, despite being within the "footprint" of the EU, or being sovereign states of those 27 members of the EU, are not within the tax territory of the EU. This means that whenever you are flying to those countries/areas listed below, you can buy relevant goods at Duty Free prices.

The primary destinations are: The Canary Islands - Tenerife, Gran Canaria, Lanzarote, Fuerteventura (these are part of Spain), the Channel Islands - Jersey & Guernsey and Gibraltar (these are part of the UK).